FDM & Google Chrome

Moderators: Usher, vaneo, Victoria Nelson, Alex

hdoubls
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2009 3:51 pm

FDM & Google Chrome

Postby hdoubls » Fri Aug 28, 2009 3:53 pm

Hello everybody :)
Can anyone here tell me please how to use Free Download Manager (3.0/848) with Google Chrome, i churched on the forum and i didn't find the solution :(
I use it since 1 year and i think that it's the best download accelerator, so please help!!!
Thank's :D
Image
hdoubls
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2009 3:51 pm

Postby hdoubls » Sat Aug 29, 2009 10:32 pm

UP!
Image
hdoubls
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2009 3:51 pm

Postby hdoubls » Sun Aug 30, 2009 7:40 pm

nobody wants to help me :(
Alex
FDM Team
Posts: 1901
Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2004 12:17 pm

Postby Alex » Sun Sep 13, 2009 9:13 pm

Alex,
FDM development team
tarl

Postby tarl » Wed Sep 16, 2009 2:45 pm

Didn't work for me. I'm using latest Dev version of Chrome.
skks

works for me

Postby skks » Fri Sep 25, 2009 11:37 am

Monitoring works but context menus don't. I installed the monitoring plugin using the monitoring section in FDM settings.

I'm using the latest Google Chrome from the Beta channel (4.0.213.1), the dev channel is a bit too bleeding edge for me and if you have problems with it working with other software - it's most likely the development build's fault as it's far from stable.
Guest

Re: FDM & Google Chrome

Postby Guest » Tue Oct 27, 2009 6:09 pm

Hi - I have Google Chrome 3.0.195.27 installed on win7

I have installed the official FDM from link on this site, and the .870 version linked in this forum.

Enabling, disabling FDM Google Chrome monitoring and restarting chrome doesn't allow Chrome to intercept downloads. I've even installed FDM as administrator.

I can confirm that enabling monitoring does copy the npfdm.dll into C:\Users\xxx\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\Application\Plugins

I can confirm I've changed the Chrome shortcut to :
C:\Users\xxx\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe --enable-extensions


Still no-joy.
Please help

Thanks
Chris
Alex
FDM Team
Posts: 1901
Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2004 12:17 pm

Re: FDM & Google Chrome

Postby Alex » Tue Oct 27, 2009 10:24 pm

We'll look.
Alex,

FDM development team
janakirani
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2009 7:16 am

Re: FDM & Google Chrome

Postby janakirani » Wed Oct 28, 2009 7:18 am

Enabling, disabling FDM Google Chrome monitoring and restarting chrome doesn't allow Chrome to intercept downloads. I've even installed FDM as administrator.



Bariatric Surgery
thyroid
Mr. Good Times

Re: FDM & Google Chrome

Postby Mr. Good Times » Thu Nov 12, 2009 8:39 pm

I'm having the same problem. I'm running Windows 7 64bit RC with FDM ver. 3.0 build 848 & Google Chrome ver. 4.0.223.16. When I enable monitoring for Chrome it says it can't locate my plugin folder and asks if I want to locate it manually. I say yes and point it to "C:\Users\whoever\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\User Data\Default\Plugin Data" with no success and also to "C:\Users\whoever\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\Application\Plugins" (except the "Plugins" folder didn't previously exist) still with no success. I confirm that the .dll file is getting copied and according to FDM it is working. However, nothing in Chrome happens whether I restart Chrome or not. I am becoming sad! :( Please help
Mr. Good Times
SkyDiver
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2009 5:23 pm

Re: FDM & Google Chrome

Postby SkyDiver » Sun Nov 15, 2009 5:28 pm

Hi,

FYI, I just installed FDM for the first time (version 3.0.848) on my Win7/64bit system.
I configured it to work with Google Chrome version 3.0.195.33, which is the latest version to date (I have no idea how on [google] earth you have a later version.. :)

Anyways, I didn't have the Plugins folder as well, so I just created one at:
C:\Users\<Your User Name Here>\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\Application\Plugins

When configuring FDM to work with Chrome, I pointed it to the above plugins folder) and now when I click a link, it launchs in FDM.
(*) Didn't see any FDM related menu items when right-clicking a download link in chrome (but it's not that big a deal for me).

HTH.
Mr. Good Times

Re: FDM & Google Chrome

Postby Mr. Good Times » Mon Nov 16, 2009 8:32 pm

Yeah, I got it to work Friday afternoon (11-13) but it still has issues. When I click a download link, FDM takes it maybe 30% of the time. If I right click and select "Save link as..." FDM never takes it, Chrome always downloads it within the browser. A bit frustrating, but perhaps it's my own fault... :oops:
Image
In my quest to find a 64 bit version of Chrome, I downloaded the Beta version (which contrary, to what I was told, is still 32 bit!). The latest version out there according to wiki is v4.0.237.0 (Windows Beta Channel), 4.0.245.0 (Windows, Mac & Linux Dev channel)
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Google_Chrome
So I'm not running the riskiest Beta, but a Beta nonetheless so issues are to be expected. :(
Anyway, I can always right click and select "Copy link address" and port it into FDM that way.
KinGsNow

Re: FDM & Google Chrome

Postby KinGsNow » Thu Dec 10, 2009 7:55 pm

fdp do not detect the downloads from chrome (4.0.249.25)
the only way is copy and paste =/ tnx i hope suport for chrome because fdm is t best *-*
Joseph

Re: FDM & Google Chrome

Postby Joseph » Sat Dec 12, 2009 11:15 am

Hi all,

I am also troubled by FDM unable to support Google Chrome by intercepting the downloads. Thus, I search around and make some test myself. And now, I am able to allow FDM to intercept the downloads.

Information:
Operating System: Windows 7 64bit
Google Chrome: 3.0.195.33
FDM: Version 3.0 Build 848

1. Navigate to C:\Users\xxx\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\Application\.
2. Look for Plugins folder. If do not exist, create one.
3. Open FDM > Options > Settings > Monitoring > Checked Google Chrome.
4. It will prompt you "Can't locate plugins folder and asks to locate it manually.". Click OK.
5. Point to C:\Users\xxx\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\Application\Plugins\. Click OK.
6. Restart Google Chrome and FDM.

Now it should work. Good luck.
Joseph

Re: FDM & Google Chrome

Postby Joseph » Sun Dec 13, 2009 9:02 am

Take note of the above that it does not work for all downloads.

Return to “General forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests