Firefox 10

Moderators: Usher, vaneo, Victoria Nelson, Alex

flagpole
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 12:11 pm

Firefox 10

Postby flagpole » Fri Dec 23, 2011 4:47 pm

had a pig of a job getting FF plugin 1.5.5 to work with FF10(.0b1)

the Add-on Compatibility reporter 1.0.2 stops disabling the compatibility check at versions greater than 9.
so if you are faced with this problem you need to do the following.

-type about:config in the address bar
-right click anywhere and select New > Boolean
-call it 'extensions.checkCompatibility.10.0' no quotes
-set it's value to 'false'
-restart
-go to add-ons
-enable
phrozen ghost
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 2:45 pm

Re: Firefox 10

Postby phrozen ghost » Sat Dec 24, 2011 3:39 am

flagpole wrote:had a pig of a job getting FF plugin 1.5.5 to work with FF10(.0b1)

the Add-on Compatibility reporter 1.0.2 stops disabling the compatibility check at versions greater than 9.
so if you are faced with this problem you need to do the following.

-type about:config in the address bar
-right click anywhere and select New > Boolean
-call it 'extensions.checkCompatibility.10.0' no quotes
-set it's value to 'false'
-restart
-go to add-ons
-enable


I didn't have that problem with FF10.
I just went into the configuration file ...
C:\Program Files\Free Download Manager\Firefox\extension\install.rdf
and changed the max version to 10.* and then restarted FF. Viola!!!!

<?xml version="1.0"?>

<RDF xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/02/22-rdf-syntax-ns#"
xmlns:em="http://www.mozilla.org/2004/em-rdf#">

<Description about="urn:mozilla:install-manifest">

<!-- Required Items -->
<em:id>fdm_ffext@freedownloadmanager.org</em:id>
<em:name>Free Download Manager plugin</em:name>
<em:version>1.5.5</em:version>

<em:targetApplication> <!-- Firefox -->
<Description>
<em:id>{ec8030f7-c20a-464f-9b0e-13a3a9e97384}</em:id>
<em:minVersion>1.5</em:minVersion>

<em:maxVersion>10.*</em:maxVersion>
</Description>
</em:targetApplication>

<em:targetApplication> <!-- Netscape -->
<Description>
<em:id>{3db10fab-e461-4c80-8b97-957ad5f8ea47}</em:id>
<em:minVersion>8.0</em:minVersion>
<em:maxVersion>8.1</em:maxVersion>
</Description>
</em:targetApplication>

<!-- Optional Items -->
<em:creator>FreeDownloadManager.ORG</em:creator>
<em:description>Free Download Manager integration with Firefox browser.</em:description>
<em:homepageURL>http://freedownloadmanager.org/</em:homepageURL>

</Description>
</RDF>
flagpole
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 12:11 pm

Re: Firefox 10

Postby flagpole » Sat Dec 24, 2011 10:34 am

that is most odd. because ff doesn't parse the rdf except at install time. so changing it for an installed extension is not supposed to do anything.
Usher
Posts: 1736
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2010 2:37 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Firefox 10

Postby Usher » Sat Dec 24, 2011 12:18 pm

flagpole wrote:that is most odd. because ff doesn't parse the rdf except at install time. so changing it for an installed extension is not supposed to do anything.

In my opinion it's normal for the way FDM add-on is installed. Firefox watches for files in its extensions subdirectories only - and there is only unchanged "fdm_ffext@freedownloadmanager.org" file there. That's why I always ask to close Firefox and turn off Firefox monitoring in FDM before installing a new FDM version.
Andrzej P. Wozniak, FDM user and forum moderator
Read "How to report a bug or a problem with FDM"
and FDM FAQ before posting
Guest

Re: Firefox 10

Postby Guest » Wed Dec 28, 2011 9:03 pm

flagpole wrote:that is most odd. because ff doesn't parse the rdf except at install time. so changing it for an installed extension is not supposed to do anything.


Hate to say it but you are absolutely wrong. That's how FF determines if the extension is kosher.
Guest

Re: Firefox 10

Postby Guest » Wed Dec 28, 2011 9:06 pm

Usher wrote:
flagpole wrote:that is most odd. because ff doesn't parse the rdf except at install time. so changing it for an installed extension is not supposed to do anything.

In my opinion it's normal for the way FDM add-on is installed. Firefox watches for files in its extensions subdirectories only - and there is only unchanged "fdm_ffext@freedownloadmanager.org" file there. That's why I always ask to close Firefox and turn off Firefox monitoring in FDM before installing a new FDM version.


Totally wrong Alex!!! FF also looks elsewhere. As an example, and there are many more BTW, AVG is another one that sometimes needs to be tweaked when FF updates.
flagpole
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 12:11 pm

Re: Firefox 10

Postby flagpole » Thu Dec 29, 2011 12:33 pm

Guest wrote:
flagpole wrote:that is most odd. because ff doesn't parse the rdf except at install time. so changing it for an installed extension is not supposed to do anything.


Hate to say it but you are absolutely wrong. That's how FF determines if the extension is kosher.

i'm not really interested in arguing with some forum guy. but if you have an extension that is installed and marked as incompatible and you edit the <em:maxVersion> it will not become compatible. you have to do it prior to installation. it seems pretty obvious that FF would not parse all the extensions at launch to check compatibility. that would be stupid.
Shadow2012

Re: Firefox 10

Postby Shadow2012 » Sat Dec 31, 2011 3:27 pm

Thank you flagpole it worked like a dream
Guest

Re: Firefox 10

Postby Guest » Sun Feb 05, 2012 8:15 am

It worked brilliantly for me too, thanks very much flagpole, just like magic. :D
Guest 2

Re: Firefox 10

Postby Guest 2 » Sun Feb 05, 2012 12:39 pm

I may be doing it wrong but Flagpole's solution only seems to work for a single session then FF10 declares it incompatible again.

phrozen ghost's solution also works and appears to be permanent.
Guest_RUS

Re: Firefox 10

Postby Guest_RUS » Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:00 am

Thanx for advices! Works great with ff10.
alientechy

Re: Firefox 10

Postby alientechy » Wed Feb 08, 2012 1:35 pm

Thanks! I added the first rec into the registry and then saw the second one to change the install file. Not sure which worked but its working now..
PaulRichardson
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2012 6:42 am

Re: Firefox 10

Postby PaulRichardson » Sat Feb 11, 2012 7:45 am

First, thanks go out to you here who have made a great effort to get this working correctly. It's really silly to me that the core product (FF) who black-listed the FDM as 'incompatible' for causing freezes way back in 2008, is itself, often a terrible memory leaking hog of resources. :x

REF: https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=408445

Anyhow, I have followed both suggestions here to no avail, and I am hoping that someone here might have some other suggestion for me? :P

I am posting a couple screen caps to show you that I did in fact perform the requested to mods, but also to show that I am still not able to use the plugin and that it's being blocked.

Image

Image
Usher
Posts: 1736
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2010 2:37 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Firefox 10

Postby Usher » Sat Feb 11, 2012 2:01 pm

Your FDM installation is broken. You should have installed FDM add-on for Firefox version 1.5.5 now.
It was explained more than once how to reinstall FDM properly. Read other topics, please.
Andrzej P. Wozniak, FDM user and forum moderator
Read "How to report a bug or a problem with FDM"
and FDM FAQ before posting
PaulRichardson
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2012 6:42 am

Re: Firefox 10

Postby PaulRichardson » Sun Feb 12, 2012 8:43 pm

Hi Usher,

Thank you for taking the time to help me, diagnose (Dx) my problem, and for the suggested Rx. :wink:

Usher wrote:Your FDM installation is broken. You should have installed FDM add-on for Firefox version 1.5.5 now.


My FDM install is now intercepting all downloads (including Torrent downloads), from FF, IE, Chrome, and Opera on my PC now. Here are the steps I took to get it working (in case anyone else finds this thread with the same problem):

SOLUTION:
  1. First I uninstalled the FDM extension from FF, and then
  2. I used Revo Uninstaller to completely remove FDM and all registry traces of it, including
  3. removal (double-checking that there were none) all remaining config files/folders from the HDD.
  4. Then I performed a fresh clean install from the latest stable version posted on this website.
  5. I did not reverse the two modifications I had made in FF, per the above suggestions.

Usher, thank you also for attempting to point me to some other additional helpful resources:
It was explained more than once how to reinstall FDM properly. Read other topics, please.


... unfortunately, after performing a few queries using the search tool here, and also browsing the threads manually, I was unable to find the exact post you were talking about. Since I am new here, it may be a "Sticky" post (as is customary in help forums these days, for the benefit of easy reference to noobs), but it may be that I'm overlooking something.

=================================================================

To Everyone Else here,

Would it not benefit all of us, if the atmosphere was more warm and inviting (forgiving and tolerant)? It's just an idea, no biggee.

Once again, I personally appreciate all of you here, who generously have shared your knowledge in these forums. Thank you so much, your small efforts really do make a big difference for many of us, even if we aren't always brave enough to try and raise our own voices as well, in gratitude.

~p

Return to “General forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron